

## Rep. Maureen Madden, Chair Monroe County

325 Main Capitol Building P.O. Box 202115 Harrisburg, PA 17120-2115 (717) 787-5811

Dec. 19, 2023

J.J. Livingston Legislative Director PA Public Utility Commission Re:

Docket Nos. R-2023-3043189 (PAW Water) R-2023-3043190 (PAW Wastewater) R-2023-3042804 (CUPA Water) R-2023-3042805 (CUPA Wastewater)

Dear Mr. Livingston,

Members of our Northeast Delegation and our hardworking staff have heard loud and clear the frustration and fear from residents in our respective communities about requests from Pennsylvania American Water Co. and Community Utilities of Pennsylvania to sharply raise their rates.

Therefore, we are formally asking that the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission and the administrative law judges assigned to this rate case respectfully consider public input hearings for impacted areas of the Northeastern region of our Commonwealth.

Since PA American Water asked the PUC to approve water rate increases ranging from 25% to 32%, and Community Utilities of PA asked the PUC to approve a 57% rate increase for homes, businesses and industries to take effect next month, the concerns of citizens have skyrocketed. Our Delegation stands with our constituents' request to delay the PUC's final decision on the proposed rate hikes until consumers have an opportunity to share their concerns in an official PUC public input hearing.

Thank you for your consideration of this critically important topic for so many Pennsylvanians.

Respectfully,

Members of the Northeast Delegation



## Rep. Maureen Madden, Chair

**Monroe County** 

325 Main Capitol Building P.O. Box 202115 Harrisburg, PA 17120-2115 (717) 787-5811

Mawen E. Madden

Rep. Maureen Madden, Chair 115<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Jeane Mchill

Rep. Jeanne McNeill, Vice Chair 133<sup>rd</sup> Legislative District

Beigo M. Kosurust.

Rep. Bridget Kosierowski, Secretary/Treasurer 114<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Johanny Sepeda - Gregto

Rep. Johanny Cepeda-Freytiz 129<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

MIT OL

Rep. Kyle Donahue 113<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Rep. Robert Freeman 136<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Robert L. Free

Rep. Manuel Guzman 127<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Jim Hadlink

Rep. Jim Haddock 118<sup>th</sup> Legislative District And Milliam

Rep. Kyle Mullins 112<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Rep. Eddie Day Pashinski 121<sup>st</sup> Legislative District

Jarah Frasst

Rep. Tarah Probst 189<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Mark Dozzi

Rep. Mark Rozzi 126<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Steve Samuelton

Rep. Steve Samuelson 135<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Rep. Mike Schlossberg 132<sup>nd</sup> Legislative District

Rep. Peter Schweyer 134<sup>th</sup> Legislative District

Joshua Siegel

Rep. Joshua Siegel 22<sup>nd</sup> Legislative District